Recipes: Opus 20, Miles Davis West Coast Red

Posted: July 4, 2013 in Recipes

The July 4th holiday gave me a chance to brew up this hoppy red ale. It’s a hopped up take on this recipe from Jamil, as done by KNeace from MrBeerFans.com. I have been looking to do a hopped up red, and this recipe fit the bill with high praise. I did have to use a new hop, Falconer’s Flight, instead of the called for Amarillo, since my LHBS was out. According to their recommendation, it’s a close hybrid, so it should be ok.

The name on this one makes total sense to our jazz folks in the house. From the 1940s to the 1960s, Miles Davis helped develop jazz styles from bebop to fusion. These styles developed in and around Southern California, and is also known as West Coast Jazz. Since over hopped beers are from the same area (basically), I found the name fitting.

In creating this recipe, I also decided to try out brewtoad.com. This site just launched after merging a couple former sites. I was drawn in by the batch conversion ability. It worked pretty well, although it did have some buggy reloads sometimes on the iPad. I also liked that I could load up my equipment settings and they imported into the water calculator, and that this calculator had BiaB options for both with and without sparge. I used the sparge BiaB, and it only cut the water in half. This left my main bag with too thick of a mash, so I moved a gallon over (from the sparge water) and it seemed to work okay. I also used the brewday log, which helped me track some data than I sometimes forget to collect. I liked it enough that I’ll probably use it again.

Here is a link to my brewtoad page.

And here is the recipe:

Opus 20: Miles Davis West Coast Red Ale

an American IPA by Mr.BandGuy

  • Type All Grain
  • Efficiency 70.0%
  • Batch size 5.0 gal
  • Boil time 60 min

Fermentables

NAME AMOUNT USE PPG
 2-Row Brewers Malt 10.0 lb76 % Mash 37
 Caramel Malt 40L 1.0 lb7 % Mash 34
 Munich Malt I 1.0 lb7 % Mash 37
 Victory® Malt 0.5 lb3 % Mash 34
 Caramel Malt 120L 0.4 lb3 % Mash 32
 Pale Chocolate Malt 2.5 oz1 % Mash 32

Hops

NAME AMOUNT TIME USE FORM AA
Magnum United States 0.75 oz 60 min Boil Pellet 14.7%
Falconer’s Flight United States 0.5 oz 15 min Boil Pellet 11.4%
Centennial United States 0.5 oz 15 min Boil Pellet 8.7%
Cascade United States 0.5 oz 15 min Boil Pellet 7.3%
Cascade United States 0.5 oz 5 min Boil Pellet 7.3%
Centennial United States 0.5 oz 5 min Boil Pellet 8.7%
Falconer’s Flight United States 0.5 oz 5 min Boil Pellet 11.4%
Cascade United States 0.5 oz 1 min Boil Pellet 7.3%
Centennial United States 0.5 oz 1 min Boil Pellet 8.7%
Falconer’s Flight United States 0.5 oz 1 min Boil Pellet 11.4%
Cascade United States 0.5 oz 5 days Dry Hop Pellet 7.3%
Centennial United States 0.5 oz 5 days Dry Hop Pellet 8.7%
Falconer’s Flight United States 0.5 oz 5 days Dry Hop Pellet 11.4%

Yeasts

NAME LAB ATTENUATION TEMP
Safale US-05 US-05 Fermentis 70.0% 60°F – 60°F

Extras

NAME AMOUNT TIME USE
Irish Moss 1.0 tsp 15.0 min Boil

Mash steps

STEP HEAT SOURCE TARGET TEMP TIME
Saccharification Rest Direct Heat 152 degF 60 min
Mash-Out Direct Heat 168 degF 15 min

Notes

10 drops fermcap added to boil Dry hop .5 of Cascade, Amarillo, Centennial for 5 days

And here is my brew log. I am debating on reducing the dry hop by about half. OG was spot on at 1.066. I am fermenting at 65 degrees.

Looking forward to this one!

Comments are closed.