Opus 19: Kokomo Arnold Milk Stout

Posted: June 4, 2013 in Recipes, Uncategorized

I squeezed in another brew day today, brewing up Opus 19: Kokomo Arnold Milk Stout. This recipe is based on this one from homebrewtalk, and received great reviews. My brother enjoys this style, so I thought I’d give it a go. It’ll also be a nice contrast to the light summer beers I’ve been making. The only adjustment I made was to play with the numbers for a 4 gallon batch.

The name comes from the song “Milk Stout Blues”, originally written by Kokomo Arnold, an early blues musician and contemporary of Robert Johnson. I love it when I can learn a little music history as I brew!

This is also the first batch that I will ferment in my new Better Bottle, which I bought with my winnings at the Madison River Roots Brewoff. This also marks the first time I will be using rinsed yeast, pitching a 1 L starter. I’ll have to describe that process in another post sometime.

Recipe Characteristics

Recipe Gravity 1.066 OG Estimated FG 1.017 FG
Recipe Bitterness 24 IBU Alcohol by Volume 6.4%
Recipe Color 48° SRM Alcohol by Weight 5.0%

Ingredients

Quantity Grain Type Use
6.00 lb Two-row (US) Grain Mashed
0.50 lb Munich (German) – [Malty, Sweet – Redish Color] Grain Mashed
0.50 lb Crystal 60L – [Body, Caramel, Head, Sweet] Grain Mashed
0.50 lb Chocolate Malt (British) – [Chocolate, Coffee, Nutty, Toasted] Grain Mashed
0.40 lb Flaked Barley [Briess] – Body for stouts and porters Adjunct Mashed
0.30 lb Flaked Oats [Briess] – Body, mouthfeel and head retention Adjunct Mashed
0.75 lb Roasted Barley – [Burnt, Coffee, Grainy, Nutty, Roasted] Grain Mashed
0.75 lb Milk Sugar Sugar Other
Quantity Hop Type Time
1.00 oz Kent Goldings (U.K.) Pellet 10 minutes
0.25 oz Magnum Pellet 60 minutes
Quantity Misc Notes
1.00 unit Irish Moss Fining Added at 15 minutes
1.00 unit Safale S-05 Dry Ale Yeast Yeast 1 liter starter

Recipe Notes

Mash 75 minutes at 152, Ferment for 3 weeks at 65
Add lactose at 10 minutes

Batch Notes

Mashed for 90 minutes at 152-154. 1.047 Preboil gravity. OG is spot on at 1.064!

Used 1 gallon less than calculated, added back for sparge

Pitched 1 L starter of rinsed US-05 yeast at high krausen, at 70 degrees.

Comments

Leave a Reply

