Tasting: Opus 12, Dubliners Stout

Posted: February 2, 2013 in Recipes, Tasting Notes

The Dubliners Stout gives me hope that I can do all grain! I borrowed the recipe from High Iron, a poster over at Mr. Beer Fans, and combined with my new found knowledge from my first BiAB attempt, It’s pretty fantastic, jet black with a light body and mouthfeel. It has enough bitterness to balance the roasted malt, leaving flavors of coffee on the palate. It’s surprisingly easy drinking for a stout, and sessionable a 4.2%.

This one will be on the rebrew list soon, maybe with a vanilla addition. Definitely good as is, though! I hoped to save it for St. Patrick’s Day, but I doubt it will make it that far!

Leave a Reply

