Tasting: Opus 10, Britton ESB

Posted: February 2, 2013 in Recipes, Tasting Notes

My first impression of the Britton ESB was not good. But after giving it some time, it’s much improved. It’s way undercarbed, even though I followed the levels recommended by tastybrew. Maybe it is correct for the style, but I’d prefer more bubbles. More time has helped bring this around.

As for the taste, it’s aged pretty well. There is a sweetness, with a subtle hop presence. I was expecting more hoppiness, and maybe that is what I’m tasting, and confusing the English hops. It’s a fruity sweetness, which I attribute to the hops and yeast combination. It’s pretty good on its own, but not quite what I expected in flavor. It’s a bit of a disappointment, but good enough to revisit in the future, perhaps with a different recipe.

Leave a Reply

