Bottling: Amadeus Ale Mvt. 2

Posted: February 2, 2013 in Bottling Notes, Recipes

I bottled up the Amadeus Ale, Movement 2 tonight, using 2.2 oz of corn sugar in a batch prime. It ended up with an FG of 1.011, close enough to the projection from the recipe. The hydrometer sample was pretty tasty, with a hoppy front aroma and solid malt backbone. The color is much more brown than red, but that may clear up a bit in the bottle.

In botting this up, I did have a couple snags. The dry hops seemed to float on top much more than last time, leaving lots of floaters throughout the fermentor. Combined with the trub at the bottom, I dumped a good amount and only would up with 18 good bottles, plus two trub bottles. I also had to stop and clean out some hops from the bottling wand after a clog, something I hadn’t had to do in quite a while.

I made three changes with this beer, so I can’t pinpoint the cause. This was the first beer made using my new wort chiller, and the first using an actual fermentation fridge, so that may have caused the extra trub. It’s also the first time I used Irish moss, so that may have helped keep the hops together (I’m not sure on that…I’ll be researching it). I think I will be cold crashing the APA to prepare it for bottling in the next couple days.

At any rate, based on the sample, I do think this will be a pretty tasty beer come March!

Leave a Reply

