Recipe: Opus 13, Amadeus Ale Mvt. 2

Posted: January 20, 2013 in Recipes

A couple weeks ago after Christmas, I scooped up a couple of the new Mr. Beer refill kits from Bed, Bath, and Beyond at 50% off. The kits came with 1 can each of Octoberfest and Mexican Cerveza, and should provide me with a few quick brew days. So, I went to the Mr. Beer website and explored the recipes using these two extracts. I decided to brew up a variation on this Howling Red Ale.

Looking back at my notes, this one is very much like the Amadeus Ale I made before. Seeing how that recipe called for ingredients no longer available, and having more experience and knowledge, I figured I could revisit the name and make Movement 2! I was shooting for an Americanized Red Ale.

Opus 13, Amadeus Ale, Mvt. 2
Recipe Opus 13, Amadeus Ale, Mvt. 2 Style Irish Red Ale
Brewer Bandmaster’s Brewing Batch 2.40 gal
Extract

Recipe Characteristics

Recipe Gravity 1.052 OG Estimated FG 1.013 FG
Recipe Bitterness 26 IBU Alcohol by Volume 5.0%
Recipe Color 12° SRM Alcohol by Weight 4.0%

Ingredients

Quantity Grain Type Use
0.50 lb CaraVienne Grain Steeped
0.25 lb Crystal 60L Grain Steeped
1.87 lb Mr. Beer/Coopers Oktoberfest Lager Extract Extract
1.00 lb Muntons DME – Light Extract Extract
Quantity Hop Type Time
0.25 oz Challenger (U.K.) Pellet 15 minutes
1.00 oz Mr. Beer/Coopers Oktoberfest Lager Pellet 5 minutes
0.50 oz Cascade Pellet 5 minutes
0.50 oz Cascade Pellet 0 minutes
Quantity Misc Notes
1.00 unit Mr. Beer Dry Ale Yeast Yeast Temperature Range: 68°-76° F 2.0 GRAMS
0.50 unit Irish Moss Fining

Recipe Notes

I changed up a a couple new things for this batch. I wanted to keep it easy, so I used Challenger hops simply because I had them. I also added Irish moss for the first time (1/2 teaspoon) and used the Mr. Beer yeast because it was here. The yeast is now 5 grams, and is supposed to be much improved.

Additionally, my new wort chiller and temperature controller arrived, so this is my first brew using those items.

Process

I began by steeping the grains in one gallon of 170 degree water, placed in a warm oven for 30 minutes. In a separate pot, I dissolved the DME in another gallon of water, then combined the two for the boil. I added the irish moss and wort chiller  (to sanitize) into the pot at the same time as the Challenger hops because of the short boil time. This did cause the temp to drop, so I stopped the clock until it began to boil again. It’s possible this will raise the IBUs a bit.

The wort chiller worked great, and cooled the wort  to 65 degrees in about 15 minutes. I transferred to the LBK, topped it up to the quart mark, aerated, and added my rehydrated yeast. Afterwards, I put it in my old mini fridge with the temp controller set to 65.

This morning, the controller was down to 49 degrees as I forgot to defrost the fridge. The ice build up began to melt, but kept the temp down overnight (I figured this out with a puddle of water on the floor!). I cleaned up the ice/water, dried out the inside, and it’s now up to 59 degrees. I’m sure it will continue raising and be just fine.

The only other issue I had was that I forgot to take an OG reading. So, what’s listed above is from qbrew. This is usually close, so I’m not worried.

I plan to dry hop this in about a week with the remaining Cascades.

Comments
  1. […] Recipe: Opus 13, Amadeus Ale Mvt. 2 […]

Leave a Reply

