Opus 11: WC Handy APA

Posted: November 3, 2012 in Recipes

It’s brew day! For this one, I wanted something that I could make quickly, easily, and drink anytime during the cold winter months. It’s been a while since I did a straight APA, and that was so early in my experience, I’m not sure it counted! Plus, that was a Mr. Beer recipe and I’ve moved on since then.

Even through my first all-grain batch seemed to go pretty well, I’m still awaiting the results. This one is back to extract. I wanted a faster brew day, so there you go!

I based this recipe off of the Schlafly Dry-hopped APA. There are several clone recipes out there, but all of them, strangely, use a different hop from those listed at Schlafly. I aimed for the same OG, ABV, and IBUs, and figured a good beer would result. I planned on using some Ahtanum hops, as listed on the description I received from a Schlafly rep (not the website, however). Turns out that hop is a commercial only hop, but is close to Cascade. I added Citra as a substitute and to give it a different flavor. We’ll see how that goes.

This one is out of style for an APA, and almost hits IPA range with the balance. But, I like hoppy, and even Schlafly is out of style on theirs, so I think I’m okay.

The name: Schlafly is based in St. Louis, Missouri. W.C. Handy (although from Alabama) penned “The St. Louis Blues,” a great American standard.

Recipe Opus 11: WC Handy APA Style American Pale Ale
Brewer Bandmaster’s Brewing Batch 2.40 gal
Extract

Recipe Characteristics

Recipe Gravity 1.061 OG Estimated FG 1.016 FG
Recipe Bitterness 48 IBU Alcohol by Volume 6.3%
Recipe Color 14° SRM Alcohol by Weight 5.0%

Ingredients

Quantity Grain Type Use
1.30 lb Crystal 40L Grain Steeped
3.00 lb Muntons DME – Light Extract Extract
Quantity Hop Type Time
0.50 oz Chinook Pellet 35 minutes
0.50 oz Cascade Pellet 15 minutes
0.50 oz Citra Pellet 5 minutes
0.25 oz Cascade Pellet 5 minutes
0.25 oz Citra Pellet 0 minutes
0.50 oz Chinook Pellet 0 minutes
0.50 oz Cascade Pellet 0 minutes
Quantity Misc Notes
1.00 unit Safale S-05 Dry Ale Yeast Yeast

Process

Steeped CL40 with 2 gallons of water at 170, placed in a warmed oven to keep temp for 30 minutes, stirring at 15 minutes. I used the bag in the same manner as the BiaB instead of tying it up. I dissolved the DME in 1 gallon of water in a separate pot, then combined the two pots for the boil. Everything else was standard ice bath, rehydrate yeast, pour into LBK and pitched around 68 degrees. I also left the LBK in the fridge for the first couple hours to get it down to around 62 before putting it in the closet.

I plan to dry hop with all three hops in 1 week, per the schedule above. This way, I get a bit of the Chinook for both bittering and aroma.

Comments
  1. […] day off, so it was again brew day to keep the pipeline going. My WC Handy APA turned out so well, I decided to brew it up again. I made a couple minor modifications, opting to […]

Leave a Reply

