Tasting: Il Prete Rosso

Posted: May 27, 2012 in Recipes, Tasting Notes

The Il Prete Rosso, Opus 5, was ready for a tasting yesterday (although I sneaked a few quality control samples earlier this week). As you recall, I was going for a good summer blonde with an hint of strawberry flavor, a la Pete’s Wicked Strawberry Blonde. This isn’t an exact clone, which wasn’t my aim, but it’s spot on for my goal! The strawberry flavor doesn’t overwhelm, and balances nicely with the blonde ale. The hops are present, but not overwhelming. It’s a beautiful light amber color with good carbonation, a little head on the pour, and decent lacing. I do which it had a bit more aroma, but that can be forgiven.

As for taste, the strawberries are the star of the show. It has a clean finish, with a touch of berry on the tongue. I do taste a bit of the “artificial” natural flavor, kind of like candy. This is unfortunate, but it wouldn’t stop me from using it again, especially as I understand that real strawberries are pretty difficult to use (they are hard to sanitize).

Overall, I’d rate this a 4/5. It’s definitely a keeper and very enjoyable on the hot summer days. It’s also my first all extract brew, so results are positive! One of my best brews yet!

Leave a Reply

