Recipe: Antes Ale, Opus 7

Posted: May 27, 2012 in Recipes

With the holiday weekend, I had some time to brew up another batch today. I wanted to use up the ingredients I had laying around from my last couple brews, so I created this recipe from those. It’s basically a wheat beer, but with a blonde ale influence. I’m calling it the Antes Ale, after the famed Morovian musician from colonial times, since it combines a German influence with the English to create an American style ale.

Recipe Characteristics

Recipe Gravity 1.050 OG Estimated FG 1.013 FG
Recipe Bitterness 26 IBU Alcohol by Volume 5.1%
Recipe Color 4° SRM Alcohol by Weight 4.0%

Ingredients

Quantity Grain Type
0.60 lb Mr. Beer Booster Sugar
1.50 lb Muntons DME – Wheat (60%/40%) Extract
0.50 lb Muntons LME – Light Extract
Quantity Hop Type Time
0.50 oz Hallertauer (Germany) Pellet 60 minutes
0.50 oz Kent Goldings (U.K.) Pellet 20 minutes
0.25 oz Willamette Pellet 5 minutes
0.25 oz Willamette – Very popular aroma hop with earthy, spicy character for any English or American ales Pellet 0 minutes
Quantity Misc Notes
1.00 unit Safbrew WB-06 Dry Wheat Yeast Yeast

Process

I did the hop boil with 2 gallons of water, as an experiment to see how it transferred to the LBK and because I was using 2 lbs. DME. It took a bit longer to boil and subsequently cool than I would have liked, so I think I should just stick to the 1.5 gallons next time. You’ll also notice that I used some Mr. Beer Booster. This was simply to up the ABV. Without it, it came up 3.9%, but with Booster, came in at 5.1%. I chose the WB-06 yeast because my LHBS suggested it would taste like Upland Wheat, which I enjoy on the hot summer days. You’ll also see that I plan to dry hop with another .25 oz of the Willamette hops in about a week. I’m thinking this will give it an aroma as it pours.

My hope with this recipe is to create an easy drinking, session ale to enjoy over the summer with some unexpected hops. I’m not sure how this combination of hops will turn out. I know the Goldings and Willamette work pretty well together. I’m hoping the Hallertauer will add an interesting foundation of flavor. I guess we’ll know in about 6 weeks!

Comments
  1. […] cracked open a couple of the Antes Ales this week, about five days early, to see how the carb was and to give it a taste. Initial thoughts […]

Leave a Reply

