Recipe: il Prete Rosso Ale, Opus 5

Posted: April 15, 2012 in Recipes

Brewed up another batch today, the il Prete Rosso Ale. This is my first all extract brew and is intended to be a Strawberry Blonde Ale for the beginning of summer. Il Prete Rosso, “The Red Priest”, is Antonio Vivaldi’s nickname, due to his red hair. Good enough reason to name this beer, I think!

I don’t usually like fruity beers, but I do enjoy Pete’s Wicked Strawberry Blonde during the hot summer months. They use just enough strawberry without overwhelming the flavor of the beer. I’m hoping this recipe is similar.

Recipe Characteristics

Recipe Gravity 1.050 OG Estimated FG 1.013 FG
Recipe Bitterness 20 IBU Alcohol by Volume 5.1%
Recipe Color 5° SRM Alcohol by Weight 4.0%

Ingredients

Quantity Grain Type
2.50 lb Muntons DME – Light Extract
Quantity Hop Type Time
0.50 oz Kent Goldings (U.K.) Pellet 5 minutes
0.50 oz Willamette Pellet 60 minutes

1.00 unit Safale S-05 Dry Ale Yeast

Recipe Notes

Strawberry Extract to be added at bottling.

Process

I started out by boiling 1 gallon of water, then removing from the heat and mixing in the DME. Once mixed, I returned the pot to a boil for the Willamette hops. I stirred every 10 minutes.

I did experience two boil overs, the most I’ve had. The first was during the hot break, somewhat expected, so I removed from the heat until it calmed down. I think next time I use this much DME, I’ll use a bigger pot than my 6 quart. The second boil over was when I covered it to see what will happen. Bad idea. Don’t cover during the hop boil.

Otherwise, pretty straight forward from there. Added the Goldings at 5 minutes, ice bath to 70 degrees, aerate, pitch rehydrated yeast, and add to the LBK. I’ll be adding 2 oz. of the strawberry extract when I batch carb in a couple weeks.

I’m looking forward to a nice, refreshing strawberry blonde ale in May!


Comments
  1. […] Recipe: il Prete Rosso Ale, Opus 5 […]

  2. […] brew day! This batch is an all-grain version of my first extract batch, Opus 5: il Prete Rosso. I enjoyed it so much, I wanted to do a bigger batch, and try it all grain. Most everything else is […]

Leave a Reply

