Recipe: Amadeus Ale, Opus 3

Posted: March 10, 2012 in Recipes
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Tonight I brewed up the Amadeus Ale, a variation of the Drunken Druid.

The recipe came in at 6.3% with 41 IBUs, and should be about 13 in color. I used the following ingredients:

.4 lbs of 20L Crystal Malt (I wanted .25, but measured wrong at the LHBS)

1 lb of Munton’s Light DME

1 can of Mr. Beer High Country Canadian Draft

1 can of Mr. Beer Vienna Octoberfest Lager

.5 oz of Cascade Hops

US-05 Yeast

I steeped the grains by raising 1 gallon of water to 170 degrees, then removed from the heat. I then added the Crystal in a steeping bag for 30 minutes, stirring every 10.

Once finished, I brought this to a boil, and removed again from the heat. I then added the DME, slowly, while stirring to dissolve.

I returned this to the heat and brought to a boil. I boiled the Cascade hops for 5 minutes.

I then removed the wort and added both cans of the HME. Then ice bath, aerated the wort, pitched the rehydrated yeast (in boiled, then cooled water), and added to the LBK. I filled the LBK with cold tap water.

It smells great, and I’m looking forward to a nice straightforward, but strong, APA in a few weeks.

Comments
  1. […] night, I tried the trub bottle of the Amadeus Ale. If you remember at the bottling, I was a bit unsure about the amount of sugar I used for carbing. […]

  2. […] year, I two beers to share with my friends. Both of them came around just in time, 7 weeks for the Amadeus (2-3-2) and 6 weeks for the […]

  3. […] easily, and drink anytime during the cold winter months. It’s been a while since I did a straight APA, and that was so early in my experience, I’m not sure it counted! Plus, that was Mr. Beer […]

  4. […] back at my notes, this one is very much like the Amadeus Ale I made before. Seeing how that recipe called for ingredients no longer available, and having more […]

Leave a Reply

